Second set of leaves

Things are still looking good. Most of my seedlings have or are starting to develop their second set of leaves. Which if I understand correctly, is an important step. I’m hoping to move them away from the grow light soon, since I still have cucumbers, kale, and others to plant.

Out of the original round of planting, here is where they stand:

  • Four pots each of spices: Cilantro, Basil, Oregano, and Arugula
    • Cilantro: All sprouted
    • Basil : Most sprouted
    • Oregano : None
    • Arugula : All
  • Four pots Old Snow Peas. This is a store bought pack from several years ago. We planted directly in the soil but it did not work out so well.
    • All sprouted and are growing like wildfire
  • Four pots Old Squash. These might actually be Melons. In any event, these seeds have been taken from the veg/fruit, and are not store bought.
    • All sprouted and are growing like wildfire, but two of them seem to have droopy leaves.
  • Four pots Old Hot Peppers. Again these were taken from the plant, and are not store bought. While I did not mark them as such, I suspect the are Jalepanos.
    • 😦 None have sprouted. Maybe they were not fertilized??
  • Four pots each of peppers: Hungarian Hot Wax Organic, Tiburon, Monet, and Cayanetta.
    • Most have sprouted. These seem to be the slow guys in the crop. But I guess that’s because they typically require warmer client.
  • Two pots each basket tomatoes: Tiny Tim Cherry, and Tumbling Tom.
    • All have sprouted and are looking good
  • Six pots of Sweet Heart Tomato.
    • All have sprouted and are looking good

Hopefully will get them all in to larger styrofoam cups this weekend, with more soil. So far I am happy with the results

3 thoughts on “Second set of leaves

  1. They are looking good. My peppers generally don’t start as fast as my other plants. I am not sure when you planted them or if that is your problem. I just thought I would mention this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

